Eliot House was built in 1965 by Rubloff and designed by architectural firm, Solomon, Cordwell & Buenz. The building was originally developed as a 324 apartment building and was part of the Carl Sandburg Village urban renewal project. The City of Chicago helped to finance the urban renewal project which runs north-south between Division and North Avenue and east-west between Clark and LaSalle Street. In 1979 the Property was converted from a rental Property to a condominium Property by Rubloff Construction and incorporated as an Illinois not-for-profit corporation.

Eliot House is part of the Carl Sandburg Village Home Owners Association (“HOA”) which consists of 2,610 units in 8 high-rise buildings, one mid-rise building and 60 townhomes/artist studios. All of the names of the buildings in the Village are named after famous authors, writers and poets. Carl Sandburg was a famous American writer and recipient of three Pultizer Prize Awards, two for poetry and one for his biography of Abraham Lincoln. Eliot House is named after the famous British essayist, publisher, playwright, literary and social critic, T.S. Eliot. He was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1948.